Lewis and Clark National Forest Passes & Permits
Welcome to Lewis and Clark National Forest Passes & Permits
The Lewis and Clark National Forest lies in central and north central Montana within the upper Missouri River system. The Forest encompasses portions of thirteen counties.

West of Great Falls, (site of the Supervisor's Office) lies the Rocky Mountain Division of the Forest. Over 380,000 acres within the District comprises the Bob Marshall-Great Bear-Scapegoat Wilderness Complex. Another 300,000 acres are managed primarily for recreation, wildlife and scenic values.

The Jefferson Division sprawls over 1,060,000 acres and six mountain ranges (the Highwoods, Crazies, Little Belts, Castles, and Big and Little Snowies). Timber and grazing are major resources of the Jefferson Division. In fact, this Division supplies almost all (96%) of the timber and most (85%) of range production on the Forest. There are two congressionally designated Wilderness Study areas; one in the Little Belt Mountains and the other in the Big Snowy Mountains.

The Lewis and Clark Forest is home for large game animals, small animals and protected species. Forest visitors can hunt elk, mule and white tail deer, mountain goat, bighorn sheep, black bear, mountain lion, and blue grouse. Protected wildlife living on or near the Forest include lynx, bald eagles, grizzly bears, peregrine falcon and gray wolf. The Forest contains many popular viewing sites for migrating waterfowl.

The Forest has 1,600 miles of perennial streams and a few small natural and man-made lakes where forest visitors may fish for trout and mountain whitefish. Included are 14 boat camps and 20 miles of frontage on the Smith River, a nationally acclaimed blue ribbon trout stream. Additionally, over 60 streams are known to support westslope cutthroat trout, an imperiled native fish of the upper Missouri River basin.

Recreation opportunities in the Lewis and Clark National Forest's 1.8 million acres are as varied as the landscape and elevation of the Forest itself. The elevation ranges from 4,500 to 9,362 feet at the top of Rocky Mountain Peak in the Rocky Mountains. The Forest also has 10,730 acres in designated Research Natural Areas - the highest in the Region.

The Forest contains many scenic drives including the Kings Hill National Scenic Byway - U.S. Highway 89 through the Little Belt Mountains, which is a major route between Glacier and Yellowstone National Parks.

The Lewis and Clark National Forest contains 29 developed recreation sites. Many of these sites are handicap accessible. There are five cabins on the Forest that may be rented by the public on a first come, first served basis. The Forest also has two special-use ski areas within its boundaries.
Get Passes & Permits
Image of the Interagency PassThe Interagency Pass is one of several pass options that allows you to gain access to many of standard amenity recreation sites managed by the National Park Service, the USDA Forest Service, the DOI Bureau of Land Management, and the US Fish and Wildlife Service. Click here for more information about the Interagency Pass.
Buy your Interagency Pass now

Location Information
Name: Lewis and Clark National Forest
Address: 1101 15th Street N.
  Great Falls, MT 59401
Phone: (406) 791-7700
Visit the Lewis and Clark National Forest Website

More Pass and Permit Sites:
Acadia National ParkAllegheny National Forest
Angeles National ForestAransas National Wildlife Refuge
Arthur R. Marshall Loxahatchee National Wildlife RefugeAshley National Forest
Assabet River National Wildlife RefugeBalcones Canyonlands National Wildlife Refuge
Black Hills National ForestBlack Hills National Forest - Christmas Tree
Boise National ForestBridger-Teton National Forest
Cache National ForestCape Cod National Seashore
Caribbean National ForestCaribou-Targhee National Forest
Chattahoochee National ForestChequamegon-Nicolet National Forest
Chequamegon-Nicolet National ForestCherokee National Forest
Chincoteague National Wildlife RefugeChippewa National Forest
Chugach National ForestCibola National Forest
Cibola National Wildlife RefugeCleveland National Forest
Coconino National ForestColumbia River Gorge National Scenic Area
Coronado National ForestCuyahoga Valley National Park
Daniel Boone National ForestDenali National Park & Preserve
Deschutes National ForestDumont Dunes Off-Highway Vehicle Area
Eastern Massachusetts National Wildlife Refuge ComplexEl Mirage Off-Highway Vehicle Area
El Yunque National ForestEverglades National Park
Finger Lakes National ForestFlathead National Forest
Francis Marion National ForestGallatin National Forest
George Washington National ForestGifford Pinchot National Forest
Glacier National ParkGrand Canyon National Park
Grand Mesa National ForestGrand Teton National Park
Great Meadows National Wildlife RefugeGreat Smoky Mountains National Park
Green Mountain National ForestHaleakala National Park
Hawaii Volcanoes National ParkHobe Sound National Wildlife Refuge
Hot Springs National ParkHumboldt-Toiyabe National Forest
Huron-Manistee National ForestsImperial Sand Dunes Off-Highway Vehicle Area
Inyo National ForestJefferson National Forest
Joshua Tree National ParkKisatchie National Forest
Lake Mead National Recreation AreaLake Tahoe Basin Management Unit
Lassen National ForestLewis and Clark National Forest
Lolo National ForestLong Island National Wildlife Refuge Complex
Los Padres National ForestMammoth Cave National Park
Mark Twain National ForestMedicine Bow National Forest
Mississippi Department of Wildlife Fisheries and ParksMt. Baker National Forest
Mt. Hood National ForestMt. Rainer National Park
National ForestsNational Forests of Florida
National Forests of MississippiNational Forests of Nortch Carolina
National Forests of TexasNational Parks
Ninigret NWROconee National Forest
Okanogan National ForestOlympic National Forest
Olympic National ParkOuachita National Forest
Oxbow National Wildlife RefugeOzark National Forest
Ozark National Scenic RiverwaysPike National Forest
Prescott National ForestPrime Hook National Wildlife Refuge
Prime Hook National Wildlife RefugeRhode Island National Wildlife Refuge Complex
Rocky Mountain National ParkRogue River-Siskiyou National Forest
Roosevelt National ForestRoutt National Forest
Salmon-Challis National ForestSan Bernardino National Forest
San Isabel National ForestSanta Fe National Forest
Santa Fe National Historic TrailSantee National Wildlife Refuge
Sequoia National ForestSequoia National Park
Shasta-Trinity National ForestShenandoah National Park
Shoshone National ForestSiuslaw National Forest
Snoqualmie National ForestSouthern California National Forests
St. Francis National ForestSumter National Forest
Superior National ForestTahoe National Forest
Tongass National ForestTonto National Forest
Uinta National ForestUmpqua National Forest
Wasatch National ForestWayne National Forest
Wenatchee National ForestWhite Mountain National Forest
White River National ForestWhite River National Wildlife Refuge
Yellowstone National ParkYosemite National Park
Zion National Park
© 2016 Kinsail Corporation